College Road, Upholland, Lancashire , WN8 0PY


At St Teresa’s Catholic Primary School we believe in providing the very best innovative teaching and learning opportunities for all of our pupils so that our school’s mission statement becomes a reality.

Illuminated by the light of Christ and grounded in love, we grow together, on our journey of discovery and learning.

We are proud of our dynamic and innovative curriculum which provides regular awe and wonder experiences and is developed to enhance the quality of our children’s lives developing their overall well-being, personal development and aspirations. We ensure that the curriculum is accessible for all children including those with disabilities and/or special educational needs.

We are passionate about enhancing all areas of the curriculum with the outdoor environment, both on school grounds and in our local community.  We provide regular opportunities for our children to access the specialised learning approach of Forest Schools where they discover and explore risk and challenge whilst simultaneously developing skills, knowledge and deepening friendships and relationships.

We eagerly use educational research and technology to ensure our curriculum is current, relevant, progressive and engaging.  We use Twitter and Seesaw to further connect pupil’s learning with experts and to showcase our curriculum opportunities with our parents/carers and the wider community.

Guided by the Gospel Values of generosity, friendship, patience, kindness, respect and forgiveness, our children are actively taught about the importance of offering service in our school and community and they are regularly provided with the opportunities to demonstrate this both locally and globally.

The work is stimulating and interesting, as we believe that children learn best when the learning is enjoyable and fun. Children learn at different rates and in different ways. We plan a curriculum appropriate to our children’s needs.

At our school, we strive to create an inclusive, accessible environment where every member of the school community can flourish.

Under the Equality Act 2010, which protects us all from discrimination, there are nine protected characteristics. These nine protected characteristics are as follows:

  • Age
  • Disability
  • Gender reassignment
  • Marriage and civil partnership
  • Pregnancy and maternity
  • Race
  • Religion or belief
  • Sex
  • Sexual orientation

Our school curriculum is regularly reviewed, updated and enhanced in order to reflect the needs of our children. Through our curriculum, we ensure that all members of our school community are aware of these protected characteristics and understand that we do not discriminate or tolerate discrimination against anyone based on any of the protected characteristic they have.

When reviewing our curriculum, we strive to ensure that all artists, musicians, historical figures, scientists etc. reflect people from all walks of life in order to promote equality for all. Our RSE curriculum meets both the government statutory requirements and the requirements of the Archdiocese of Liverpool and as such ensures that children understand that everyone is welcome at St Teresa’s Catholic Primary School. Our curriculum provides opportunities for pupils to build on their understanding of faiths and cultures that are different to their own. We strive to ensure that pupils’ knowledge and understanding is not only linked to our Gospel values but also British values, ensuring that pupils are prepared for life in modern Britain.

If you would like more information about our school curriculum, please complete the form below and the Curriculum Lead, Miss C Phillips will contact you.

There are 3 Key Stages:

Early Years Foundation Stage (Pre-School and Reception)

Reception children follow the Early Years Foundation Stage curriculum. Play underpins all development and learning for young children and therefore your child will take part in indoor and outdoor play experiences that will help them learn and develop their enquiring mind while they are having fun.

Learning covers the following seven areas,

Children should develop the 3 prime areas. These are:

  • Communication and language
  • Physical development
  • Personal, social and emotional development

These prime areas are those most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning.

As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas. These are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design

These 7 areas are used to plan your child’s learning and activities. The professionals teaching and supporting your child will make sure that the activities are suited to your child’s unique needs. The curriculum is designed to be really flexible so that staff can follow your child’s unique needs and interests. Please keep us informed about your child’s interests and what they have been doing.

Key Stage One (Years One and Two ) and Key Stage Two (Years Three, Four, Five and Six)

The curriculum consists of the following:

  • Four core subjects: Religious Education, Mathematics, English and Science
  • Computing
  • The foundation subjects: Geography, History, Design and Technology, Music, Physical Education, Art and Design, PSHE/citizenship, Modern Languages – French

As a school we place great emphasis on teaching English and Mathematics, so that our pupils will have the best opportunities to develop reading, writing and mathematics skills.

Please click on the tabs at the side to find important, useful information about the curriculum offer in our school.